top of page

Iowa Early Learning Standards 

At Ankeny Christian Child Care and Preschool we begin full curriculum on each student's first day of school. Our curriculum is based on the Iowa Early Learning Standards developed by the Iowa Department of Education based on theory and best practice.


These standards identify the knowledge, skills, motivation, and attitudes needed by students that lead to success as they enter school and as adults. The seven developmental areas are:

  • physical well-being and motor development

  • approaches toward learning

  • social and emotional development

  • communication, language, and literacy

  • mathematics and science

  • creative arts

  • social studies


The staff at Ankeny Christian Child Care and Preschool develop and design activities that support these identified learning goals. All of the classrooms follow a yearly continuim that guides students through the standards as well as the appropriate ages and stages for each age group.

The students are also informally and formally assessed during their experience at Ankeny Christian. This insures each child's abilities are met with the appropriate differentiated instruction. The students are formally assessed in the Fall and Spring.  The teachers will meet with parents during this time to review their assessments and porfolio work.

bottom of page